Committee Information

The resolution of each Committee is approved by the Board and the general descriptions and responsibilities of each Committee is included in the Association Bylaws. Committees are comprised of volunteers and are led by Chairs with the support of Board Liaisons. Chairs, Vice Chairs, and Board Liaisons of the Committees transition leadership annually in July. The names, descriptions, and leadership of each active Committee are listed below.

Volunteer on a Committee

The AALHE volunteer community is an active group of assessment professionals around the nation who come together to share their knowledge and gain experience in their field. As a volunteer, you can make valuable professional connections, learn new skills, and help AALHE continually improve. The Committees are actively recruiting volunteers for the July 2022-June 2023 year. Learn more about volunteering on an AALHE Committee and sign up on the AALHE Volunteer Form

Volunteer on an AALHE Committee


Active Committees 2022-2023



Chair: Shannon Milligan
Board Liaison: Moreen Carvan

The Conference Committee makes recommendations for the conference experience, supports the proposal process, and plans activities to engage conference attendees.

Executive Committee

President 2022-2023: Kathleen Gorski
Past President: Josie Welsh
President Elect: Shannon Milligan

The Executive Committee consists of the President-Elect, the current President, and the Past President/Treasurer. Its responsibilities include assuring the continued and effective operation of standing committees; monitoring progress towards the strategic objectives and making recommendations to the board to assure progress; planning the agenda for board meetings; regularly consulting with the President on operational decisions and carrying out executive functions as designated by the President; and planning and overseeing regular communications with membership.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Board Liaison: Kathleen Gorski
Chair: Tracy Bartholomew
Vice Chair: Foad Ghasemi

The Diversity, Equity and inclusion shall work to promote diversity, equity, and inclusion among assessment practitioners and among members. The committee reports directly to the President and provides this person with recommendations on how to promote DEI in relation to all functions of the organization. The committee also provides consultation to existing AALHE committees to support them as they integrate DEI principles into their work.

Member Webinar Committee

Board Liaisons: Fiona Chrystall; Constance Tucker
Chair: Sue Henderson
Vice Chair: Kim Fath

The Member Webinar Committee shall offer professional Development opportunities outside the annual conference.

Emerging Dialogues Committee

Board Liaison: Gina Polychronopoulos
Chair:  Jessica Taylor
Vice Chair:  Sarah Southwick

The Emerging Dialogues Committee shall coordinate and publish original or responsive articles that discuss the challenges that higher education professionals face.

Intersections Committee

Board Liaison: Rebecca Gibbons
Chair:  Sarah Wu
Vice Chair:  Calli Holaway

The Intersections Committee shall coordinate and publish a peer-reviewed research journal focused on student learning assessment in higher education for professional development and the advancement of knowledge through scholarship.

Assessment Learning Exchange

Board Liaisons: Fiona Chrystall, Constance Tucker 
Co-Chair: Yao Hill
Co-Chair: Justin Hoshaw

The Assessment Learning Exchange Committee shall plan and implement synchronous online discussions on topics of interest to members.

Book Club

Board Liaisons: Kara Moloney, Karen White-Goyzueta  
Vice Chair: 

 The Book Club organizes and hosts book club for AALHE members.  

Membership Engagement

Board Liaisons: Kara Moloney, Karen White-Goyzueta  
Chair: Tere Naylor
Vice Chair: Christina Dryden

The Membership Engagement Committee shall consult on survey design and construction; analyze and summarize data that pertain to member engagement; and provide the Board evidence-informed recommendations to enhance the value of membership. The committee shall develop, deliver, and/or facilitate activities and opportunities to welcome new members; foster engagement; and cultivate community for all members.