AALHE Board of Directors

For information on the Board of Directors terms and responsibilities, see below.

Moreen Carvan
Sr. Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
Rosalind Franklin University

Teresa (Terri) Flateby
Higher Education and Assessment Consultant

Andre Foisy
AALHE President, Executive Director of Institutional Outcomes Assessment
Excelsior College

Kathleen Gorski
Dean of Outcomes, Curriculum and Program Development
Waubonsee Community College

Steven Hawks
Director of Undergraduate Assessment
University of Minnesota

Oscar Hernández
Executive Director of Institutional Research and Compliance
Texas Southmost College

Timothy Melvin
Assistant Professor and Director of Assessment
Marshall University

Shannon Milligan
Director of Student Affairs Assessment, Evaluation, and Organizational Development
University of California, San Diego

Erin Milne
Director of Assessment
Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts

Jeremy Penn
Assessment Coordinator
University of Iowa

Tara Rose
Director of Assessment, Institutional Effectiveness
Louisiana State University

Jane Marie Souza
AALHE Past President, Associate Provost for Academic Administration
University of Rochester

Monica Stitt-Bergh
Educational Psychologist, Assessment Office
University of Hawai‘I at Mānoa

Emily Turner
Regional Program Coordinator, Adjunct Professor
William Woods University

Josie Welsh
AALHE President-Elect, Director of Institutional Effectiveness
Missouri Southern State University



Angela Hoffman-Cooper
Executive Director
[email protected]

Lorna Keach
Administrative Assistant
[email protected]


Board of Directors roles and responsibilities from the AALHE Bylaws:

Section 1. Management. The board of directors (hereinafter “Board”) of the Association shall have the responsibility for general management and control of the activities of the Association and shall exercise the powers that may be exercised or performed by the Association under the laws of the State of Kentucky and the United States, these bylaws, and the Articles of Incorporation. Included among such responsibilities shall be

A.    Hiring of the Executive Director;
B.    Establishing and modifying the Association's mission and vision;
C.    Approving all Association policies;
D.    Approving the Association’s strategic plan;
E.    Approving the annual budget and any revisions thereto;
F.    Setting dues for all categories of membership;
G.    Reviewing the Association’s annual audit;
H.    Appointing committees; and
I.    Periodically reviewing the effectiveness of the Association, its services and its staff.

Section 2. Number and Terms. The Board shall consist of between twelve (12) to fifteen (15) Members and the Executive Director as a non-voting Member. Three (3) of the Members shall be the President, President Elect and Past President, who shall be elected as set forth in Article V, Section 2. Members who are elected to position of President will serve through the positions of President Elect, President, and Past President and be considered active members of the board and in the case of their term ending before serving as Past President, their term shall be extended accordingly. The remaining nine (9) to twelve (12) Members shall be elected for staggered terms as follows:

A.    Each year Members shall be elected to serve for five (5)-year terms. The number of open seats shall be determined by the number of board members’ terms expiring in that year.

B.    Members shall be eligible to serve no more than two consecutive terms on the Board. Members may be returned to the Board after being off the Board for five (5) years.

C.    In the event of a vacancy on the Board, the Board may appoint a person to serve the remainder of the term of the vacated Board seat.

Section 3. Meetings. The Board shall meet annually at the Association conference and shall meet by electronic means at least every four months in the interim.

Section 4. Quorum. A majority of the Board Members shall constitute a quorum. In determining a quorum the Executive Director shall not be counted as a Member of the Board.

Section 5. Remuneration. Members of the board shall serve without salaries or other remuneration; provided, however, the Board may approve travel expenditures or expenses occurred in fulfillment of AALHE responsibilities.

Section 6. Removal from Office. Any Member of the Board may be removed at any time by a vote of two-thirds (2/3) of the remaining Members of the Board. A Member of the Board who fails to attend three (3) consecutive regular meeting of the Board may be removed by a majority vote of the remaining Board Members.