Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Become a Member of AALHE
Emerging Dialogues Publication Guidelines
Share |


The mission of Emerging Dialogues is to discuss the challenges that assessment professionals in the field face today. It is intended to be a platform for original or responsive articles focused on student learning assessment that are relevant and thought-provoking while also being well-reasoned and supported by research.

The goals of Emerging Dialogues are to provide:

  • readable and consumable articles focused on student learning assessment to share and to discuss;
  • concrete examples to assist our readers in their current practice; and
  • alternative channels of communication on topics in assessment including social media platforms.

We are seeking authors to write about current emerging themes (dialogues, if you will) in assessment. We encourage people to send us articles they have written, as well as formal responses to previously published pieces.

Guidelines for Publication:

  • Submissions should be of general appeal to those who are interested in student learning assessment in higher education.
  • Submissions can be submitted anytime throughout the year as there are no deadlines; articles are typically published during the academic year (August – May).
  • Our expectation is that submissions are under 1200 words, which aligns with our purpose to provide readable and consumable articles to share and discuss. Longer pieces may also be considered.
  • Emerging Dialogues follows APA style guidelines.
  • Editors will make edits and send them back to authors for review.


Additional Guidelines for Formal Responses to an Original Publication:

  • Formal responses follow the guidelines for publication above.
  • Responses need to address key points from the initial publication, providing an explicit dialogue between the pieces. Responses should identify the date and name of the published piece they are addressing.


To contribute to our publication, please contact any of our committee members listed below.

Committee Members:

Kristin Buscher (co-chair), Mary Tkatchov (co-chair),
Kathleen Gorski, Becky Dueben,
Jeff Barbee, David Turbow,
Karen Menard,  


Connect With Us

Association for the Assessment of Learning in Higher Education
60 Terra Cotta Ave. 
Suite B #307
Crystal Lake, IL 60014 

Phone: 859-388-0855