Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Become a Member of AALHE
Committee Information
Share |

We invite you to be part of AALHE. Email if you are interested in serving on a committee.

Collaborations & Partnerships (task force)

  • Chair: Shannon Milligan


  • Chair: Andre Foisy
  • Vice-Chair: Moreen Carvan

The Conference Committee plans and carries out the annual Association conference.


  • Chair: Monica Stitt-Bergh

The Events Committee coordinates and develops events other than the annual conference for professional development and the advancement of knowledge. It includes the following sub-committees:

  • Assessment Certification Subcommittee: Exploring the development of an AALHE-sponsored assessment certification framework that will leverage existing resources and fulfill currently unmet needs.
  • Topical Interest Groups (TIGs) Subcommittee: Organizing, publicizing, and facilitating small group conversations with the intention of seeing those discussions develop into tangible projects.
  • Webinar Subcommittee: Identifying current topics, recruiting and preparing webinar presenters, and hosting discussions that promote professional growth for our membership and beyond.

Executive Committee

  • Members: Jane Marie Souza, Andre Foisy, Jeremy Penn

The Executive Committee consists of the President-Elect, the current President, and the Past President/Treasurer. Its responsibilities include assuring the continued and effective operation of standing committees; monitoring progress towards the strategic objectives and making recommendations to the board to assure progress; planning the agenda for board meetings; regularly consulting with the President on operational decisions and carrying out executive functions as designated by the President; and planning and overseeing regular communications with membership.


  • Chair: Josie Welsh
  • Members: Jeremy Penn; Monica Stitt-Bergh; Oscar Hernandez

The Finance Committee reviews financial and budget documents; makes policy recommendations regarding financial and budget policies; considers the needs of the Association regarding growth and stability and makes policy recommendations on the structure and activities of the Association.


  • Chair: Joan Hawthorne

The Infrastructure Committee ensures viability of the organization by managing the website, Board nominations and elections, and branding.

Knowledge Development (task force)

  • Chair: Terri Flateby


  • Chair: Kathleen Gorski
  • Members: Catherine Wehlburg; Steven Hawks

The Publications Committee coordinates and develops publications on student learning assessment for professional development and the advancement of knowledge.

Recruitment & Retention

  • Chair: Tara Rose

Recruitment & Retention analyzes membership data, recruits & retains members. The committee makes recommendations of the conditions under which membership is established and renewed. This committee also manages Member volunteers and directs the annual survey of members.


  • Chair: Leah Parsons Simpson

The Communications Committee coordinates and disseminates information through engagement in social networking. This includes promoting events and opportunities through social media and other outlets.

Connect With Us

Association for the Assessment of Learning in Higher Education
60 Terra Cotta Ave. 
Suite B #307
Crystal Lake, IL 60014 

Phone: 859-388-0855